Spicy Coconut Samosas

 

Talk to me about samosas and I’ll immediately start thinking of two specific kinds. One that has a potato stuffing, is best accompanied with some tangy tamarind chutney and a piping hot cup of tea. The other, well, is one of my mum’s specials, a spicy coconut samosa and that’s what I’m going to talk about today.

I love everything my mum cooks like I’m sure every daughter does. But what’s even better is that we share our food interests too. Well, there’s a huge overlap in any case. Mum and I both love spicy, tangy and fried foods. Bland, oil free or healthy doesn’t work for us. I’m not saying that’s a good thing but we just love our food made a particular way.

Chinese or rather Indian Chinese is one of our favourite cuisines. She loves eating out as do I. We get bored very soon if there’s repetition in what we are eating and we also don’t easily like someone’s cooking. Picky, choosing, I get it all from her. So if you need to blame anyone for my food quirks, it’s my mum.

Spicy Coconut Samosas

Coconut Samosas

My earliest memories of the coconut samosa go back to our time in Shillong. I can still close my eyes and enjoy the aroma. Before I left home for studies and eventually life, I never realised I’d miss this particular preparation of hers as well. But I do now. I miss everything she cooks. So this time when she was home, I asked her to make it for me among many other things from her repertoire. As always she did just that.

With the very first bite, I felt being transported to Shillong again. I guess it’s not just a samosa or a snack, it’s a part of my childhood and that’s why.

Some of my friends have even asked me for the recipe which is pretty simple really. Now, I’m not a recipe person but here’s what I know. It’s similar to making any other kind of samosa. The only difference is the stuffing which is also pretty straightforward.

All you need are very simple ingredients really.

1 grated coconut.
2 big onions finely chopped.
4-5 Green chillies finely chopped.
A small bud of ginger finely chopped.
1 tea spoon of Sugar.
Salt to taste.
Cardamom & Cinnamon powder to taste.

Mix all that up and your stuffing is ready.

Well, all this has made me really hungry so I’m going to go have a samosa.

Tell me, do you like samosas?

7 thoughts on “Spicy Coconut Samosas

  1. I have never had coconut samosa. I hardly get to eat a proper potato samosa 😢 Oh you added sugar as well… I guess it must have one of those spicy sugary taste… Yummmmm 😀😀😀

    Like

  2. Ooh, I love samosas, just wish they didn’t land up on my waistline! Here in the Malabar, most samosas are meat-based, so this one is a lovely change from that! Should try these soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

