My Basa Story #FoodTalk

 

Have you ever planned to cook something, searched for the recipe online, reached out to friends and then finally when it was time to cook, ended up making something else altogether?

 

Well, I did. In fact, I often do this.

 

So, a couple of weeks ago, I was looking for a simple recipe for Basa fish. I had two Basa fillets in my freezer and wanted to do something different with it. That’s when I reached out to Tina Basu who writes at Twinkling Tina cooks for a simple yet amazing recipe.

 

She is actually one of my two go-to food bloggers when it comes to dependable recipes. I like how she deconstructs every step making it easy for non-cooks like me. Moreover, there is no hard and fast rule when it comes to cooking with her. That’s the warm vibe I get from her blog and I love it. So, I approached her and as amazing as she is, I had with me the link to a simple and easy Basa dish, Baked Basa Fillet, in the next few minutes of asking.

 

But as luck would have it, my 10-month-old daughter got sick and I couldn’t find the time to buy or order two important ingredients which I needed as per Tina’s recipe. The husband wasn’t in town either to get those for me. The Basa was getting old and I needed to do something with it immediately. So, like always, I took a gamble.

 

This is what I did.

 

I mixed lime juice, ginger garlic paste, oregano, sage, black pepper and salt in one bowl. Then I soaked the Basa Fillets, which I had cut into smaller pieces, in that very mixture for 5 minutes or so. I didn’t have Mayonnaise at home, so I had to make do without it.

 

The next thing was bread crumbs. Well, as luck would have it, there was no bread at home either. I know, it sounds strange because who doesn’t have bread at home? Well, it seems, I don’t! Without the bread for the crumb, I didn’t know what to do until I sprinkled semolina on one side of the Basa Fillets. Honestly, I didn’t have any idea if that would work. But since I was taking a risk, I decided to go all the way.

 

With all that preparation our of the way, I baked the fillets in a pre-heated oven at 220 Degrees for about 20 -25 minutes. And because I’m a Bengali who just can’t live without rice, I teamed the baked fillets with plain rice, some baked English Cucumbers and a generous helping of butter.

 

How were the baked fillets?

 

Well, honestly, it wasn’t that bad. Yes, it wasn’t as crispy as I probably would have liked, though. As you read, I hadn’t used bread crumbs. Then I also ended up using more butter to grease the baking dish which perhaps resulted in that. But overall, it wasn’t bad at all. I guess the risk paid off this time.

 

basa-2

© Nom Nom With Naba

 

Tell me, when was the last time you took a risk while cooking and it worked well or it didn’t end in a total disaster?

 

 

8 thoughts on “My Basa Story #FoodTalk

  1. I have been trying my hand with basa for 3 years now. It is a lovely fish which takes on the flavours you add brilliantly. Being bone-free, its something that satisfies the finicky eaters too.
    The common recipes you see online all revolve around a crispy coated fish.. trust me. Try it with your regular recipes too (fried/thick gravy, including those readymade Chinese Manchurian sachets) – but keep a watchful eye when doing so. Since it has no skin, it can get stuck to the pan unless u keep pushing it around. It cooks fast and tastes great.

    Like

  2. I’m hardly a cook at all so each time I try a recipe I make something new. I can even make the same recipe taste different each time I try it. I look upon myself as an innovator – after all where’s the thrill if you recreate the same thing every time? #mg

    Like

  3. Ah basa, I just love that fish!

    I try a lot of new recipes in the kitchen. Only vegetarian, thanks to the brahmin husband. Thankfully most of them do come out well. Well, almost.

    I once remember trying to make moong dal ka halwa and it turned into a rock after five minutes. I couldn’t pound it in the mortar pestle even 😛

    Like

  4. This happens to me all the time. And most of the times, I drop the plan to cook 😉 Though I am not someone who enjoys cooking, I try to give any recipe my version.
    Recently, I was set to make some nan khatai but I did not have baking soda, non-salted butter, and many things so I used different things and the cookies turned out pretty well 🙂 But sometimes, things turn out inedible too.

    Like

  5. Look at you — making your own recipes.

    I recently tried making enchiladas without a recipe, just guessing things along the way. They turned out okay, though I didn’t want to eat the leftovers the next day 🙂

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for all the love Naba. Next time you run out of bread and can’t make bread crumb – crush some biscuits – digestive or any biscuit which isn’t sweet – it works well. Semolina is also good as a crumb. But semolina can be crispy only when fried. But all these experiments are great. I learnt what I cook now all by experiments. My first day at the kitchen in my PG was a disaster – i couldn’t make a simple khichdi! So don’t lose heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

