‘Sweet’ Talk

As a Bengali, people always assume that I must be crazy about sweets. The much talked about undying love of Bengalis for Roshogulla or mishti doi perhaps is responsible for this. Also since a Bengali is always associated with Kolkata or West Bengal which is known for its penchant for sweets, even sugar in savoury dishes, this perception is hard to change. And maybe it doesn’t really need to change because it is most definitely more than a perception. As for me, a Bengali from Assam, sweets aren’t something I can’t live without. Yes, I might just be an anomaly after all. But from West Bengal or Assam, I’m a Bengali at the end of the day and we do love our sweets albeit in varying proportions. Let’s just say I have phases where I fall head over heels in love with sweets while just as easily fall out of love with it at other times.

So, do I like sweets?

Yes, sometimes I do.

 

sweets

 

There are times when I run miles away from sweets too. I don’t know, I have mostly been this way. As a child too, sweets, chocolates or even ice-creams never really enticed me. Yes, my parents never had to worry about cavities when it came to me. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t had affairs with desserts.

My grandmother used to make puffed rice sweet balls laced with jaggery for me and it still is one of my all time favourites. Even now I have to buy these when I find them on stands. They don’t taste like my grandmother’s but I still make do with them.

I haven’t been too fond of Roshogulla though I must confess I have had bouts of affinity towards this famous sweet. Gulab Jamun and kala jamun are more up my alley, some of my other favorites. But again, it’s not like I can’t live without them.

I have phases where I fall head over heels in love with sweets while just as easily fall out of love with it at other times.

Pati Sapta  which is basically a crepe made of rice flour stuffed with coconut or jaggery or Bengali kheer is sweet heaven for me. If I die tomorrow, I would want to have at least 1 or a dozen of it. My mom makes some mean pati saptas and hence it’s even harder to resist. They just melt in my mouth and like I said there’s no limit to how many I could eat. Perhaps that’s got to do with the genes from my mother’s side.

And while we are talking about Bengali sweets how can we forget mishti doi? There’s something about having a seven or eight course Bengali meal  and then finishing it off with some mishti doi (sweetened yogurt). Then there are also the coconut laddoos that mom makes. Again, I just love those.

But in all my love for sweets, it’s never something which I can’t control. There are times when I have cravings but other than that, it all depends on my mood. What can I say, I’m more the Chilly loving girl, sugar and all things sweet figure much later in the list. But, yes, when I have the cravings, I can go overboard.

Just the other day, I wanted to have moong dal halwa so much that I ended up making it. And if you know Indian sweets, this is not an easy dish to prepare, more so by me. This weekend too we were watching a movie late at night and suddenly started craving some sweet. Yes, in the middle of the night when we couldn’t even order in. So, we ended up making sooji halwa ( prepared using Semolina Flour, milk and sugar or jaggery). That’s what my relationship with sweet looks like. It’s unconventional, unpredictable and unstable as well. 

What about you, do you like sweets?

 

 

8 thoughts on “‘Sweet’ Talk

  1. I don’t have a sweet tooth. I have a full set. That puffed rice with jaggery used to be my favorite too. I now keep large stocks of jaggery at home. I don’t share that with anyone 😉
    But talking of sweet – jalebi is my favorite. Like I can die for it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t like sweet stuffs… but the mere mention of mishti doi is giving me insane cravings!! And I know I can’t find it here. Kolkatta rasagulla ruined all other rasagullas of the world for me. It simply melts in the mouth unlike the chewy varieties found elsewhere. 🙂 Oh you made moong daal halwa!! awesome. You get some strange cravings in the middle of the night 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The best thing about wearing braces, is that you are forced eat to soft food, and almost 75% of soft food is sweet. I’ve been eating sheera (which I think is the same as Sooji Halwa), besan ka laddu (I’ve just started liking it a lot) and cake and ice-cream. And pancakes are great too!

    I haven’t heard about the other Bengali sweets you mentioned, and that’s the effect of me being fixated only on gulab jamuns, rasgullahs and mishti doi! Thank you for sharing more and more about these yummy Bengali desserts 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: #RestaurantReview – Tim Tai | Nom Nom With Naba

  5. Pingback: #FoodFact – Eclairs | Nom Nom With Naba

Leave a Reply

